Miscellanea III

Error message

User warning: The following module is missing from the file system: drupalcenter. For information about how to fix this, see the documentation page. in _drupal_trigger_error_with_delayed_logging() (line 1156 of /kunden/638112_10115/drup_pym1/includes/bootstrap.inc).

Sullivan's Arch in Chicago, USAMiscellanea III

MISCELLANEA (III) shows the portal, designed by Louis H. Sullivan, to the Chicago Stock Exchange on Monroe Street in Chicago, which was erected in 1894 and torn down in 1972; ruins of a glass factory in Henryetta, Oklahoma, from which Bruce Goff bought the colorful pieces of glass he often used; a railway bridge over a creek in the desert on Highway 62; the General Patton Memorial Museum on Interstate Highway 10 and an intersection in Twentynine Palms, California; "Gateway West" - the Mexican border - and City Hall in El Paso, New Mexico; a study of downtown Oklahoma City and the national memorial designed by Hans Butzer in honor of the people killed in the bombing of the Murrah Building on April 19, 1995; the Community Center designed by William Wesley Peters in 1982 and Frank Lloyd Wright's Price Tower from 1956 in Bartlesville, Oklahoma; the Tower and geodesic Gold Dome that Robert B. Roloff built in 1958 in Oklahoma City from Buckminster Fuller's plans;the jungle gym Bruce Goff built in Bartlesville, Oklahoma in 1963 for children; a Lockheed T-33, the training version of the first twin-jet US fighter plane, built on a German model, exhibited as a sculpture in front of the Center of Commerce in Del Rio, Texas; three buildings by Frank Lloyd Wright from the 1920s, in which Bruce Goff had a hand; the oldest cement fence in Tulsa, Oklahoma, the oldest brick silo near Bartlesville, and a concrete schoolhouse from the 1920s in Dewey, Oklahoma; the burial sites of Louis H. Sullivan and Bruce Goff in Graceland Cemetery in Chicago; the warship "Puglia" built into a mountain slope on the grounds of Gabriele d'Annunzio's mausoleum, the "Vittoriale" in Gardone on Lake Garda - his body and those of ten loyal followers in sarcophagi on marble steles, high above Lake Garda. The footage from the US was taken in April and May 2002 during the filming of Goff in the Desert; the footage from the "Vittoriale" is from March 24, 1997 in preparation for the project D'Annunzio's CAVE.

 

Img 1: Sullivan's Arch in Chicago, USA

 

Img 2: Downtown Oklahoma City, USA

Downtown Oklahoma City, USAMiscellanea III

Photography and beyond (Part 10)

 

Country: Germany 1997-2004
Director, cinematographer, editor: Heinz Emigholz
Cooperators: Irene von Alberti, Heiner Büld, Ueli Etter, May Rigler, Frieder Schlaich, Thomas Wilk
Sound editor: Christian Obermaier
Mix: Matthias Schwab

Format: 35 mm, 1:1.37, color. Length: 22 minutes. 


Abb 3: National Memorial in Oklahoma City, USA 

National Memorial in Oklahoma City, USAGraz, March 27, 2004. Unfortunately, and it almost seems out of defiance, people who use words professionally often insist on unexamined relations between the eye and reality: here the eye, and thus "me", there reality, what confronts me. Here the camera, also "me", there the object of my viewing. Christopher Isherwood's "I Am a Camera" has consequently been repeated with as much misunderstanding as has Louis Sullivan's "Form ever follows function". Would anyone counter-assert that he is a fountain pen or a computer, just because he cannot write? No, I "am" not a camera, and no person "is" one. The answer comes: "I Am a Camera" is only a metaphor, and the camera is an unbiased, incorruptible, perhaps a completely "dispassionate" instrument of documentation held at arm's length. Cultural researchers and curating theorists currently like it with the variant "clicking the shutter". Practiced as a business, the interpretation of the "unconscious" is somehow cheaper than composing. Much has already been written elsewhere about the impertinent equating of the eye and the camera.

Abb 4: City Hall, El Paso, USA

City Hall, El Paso, USAThat a cinematic specialized jargon sees an authentic touch in certain shaky images (directly transmitted from the brain of one of the protagonists) and gives it the name "subjective camera" is more an indication of a manipulative set of tools. As a matter of fact, the camera is located in the space between the cinematographer and the world. So it is really two spaces: the space between the brain/eye of the photographer and the camera's field of vision (which does not consist solely of a lens, but also of an artificial "retina") and the space between this technical field of vision as a recording instrument and the arrangement of the reality that is captured. On both sides in the present interactions of this relational network, space is actively and physically made fluid.

Abb 5: Lockheed T-33 vor dem Center of Commerce, Del Rio, USA

Lockheed T-33 vor dem Center of Commerce, Del Rio, USASpace is melted down through the work of the gaze and, in the moment of taking the picture, welded in its components. In the act of taking the picture, a momentary linkage of spatial components is rigidified. The production of a representative image is a special case in this constellation and has little to do with thinking, if one grasps thinking as a flow. Interest should focus on the theater of the gaze, which plays out in the space between the photographer's brain and the camera's field of vision. The reality and content of the image constitute themselves in it: this is no "me", but the product of a specific process.

From: Heinz Emigholz: Das weiße Schamquadrat (The White Shame Square - unpublished)

 

Abb 6: General Patton Memorial Museum, USA

General Patton Memorial Museum, USA

Miscellanea III

Fehlermeldung

User warning: The following module is missing from the file system: drupalcenter. For information about how to fix this, see the documentation page. in _drupal_trigger_error_with_delayed_logging() (line 1156 of /kunden/638112_10115/drup_pym1/includes/bootstrap.inc).

Sullivan's Arch in Chicago, USAMiscellanea III

MISCELLANEA III zeigt das von Louis H. Sullivan gestaltete Portal des 1894 errichteten und 1972 abgerissenen Gebäudes der ›Chicago Stock Exchange‹ an der Monroe Street in Chicago, Ruinen einer Glasfabrik, von der Bruce Goff die häufig von ihm verwandten farbigen Glasbrocken bezog, in Henryetta, Oklahoma, eine Eisenbahnbrücke über einen Creek am Wüsten-Highway 62, die Anlage des ›General Patton Memorial Museums‹ am Interstate Highway 10 und eine Straßenkreuzung in Twentynine Palms in Kalifornien, den ›Gateway West‹, die Grenze zu Mexiko, und das Gelände um die City Hall in El Paso, New Mexico, eine Studie von Downtown Oklahoma City und das dort zu Ehren der bei der Zerbombung des ›Murrah Buildings‹ am 19. April 1995 getöteten Menschen von Hans Butzer designte ›National Memorial‹,das von William Wesley Peters 1982 designte ›Community Center‹ und der ›Price Tower‹ von Frank Lloyd Wright aus dem Jahr 1956 in Bartlesville, Oklahoma, den nach Buckminster Fuller 1958 von Robert B. Roloff in Oklahoma City erbaute ›Tower‹ und geodätische ›Gold Dome‹, den 1963 für Kinder errichteten Spielturm von Bruce Goff in Bartlesville, Oklahoma, eine ›Lockheed T-33‹, die Ausbildungsversion des ersten, nach deutschem Vorbild gebauten, zweistrahligen, US-amerikanischem Jagdflugzeugs als Skulptur vor dem Center of Commerce in Del Rio, Texas, drei Häuser von Frank Lloyd Wright aus den 20er Jahren, an denen Bruce Goff mitgearbeitet hat, in Tulsa, Oklahoma, der älteste Zaun aus Zement und das älteste Backsteinsilo bei Bartlesville und ein Schulgebäude aus Beton aus den 20er Jahren in Dewey, Oklahoma, die Grabstätten von Louis H. Sullivan und Bruce Goff auf dem ›Graceland Cemetery‹ in Chicago, das auf dem Gelände des ›Vittoriale‹ in Gardone am Gardasee im Berghang eingelassene Kriegsschiff ›Puglia‹ und das Mausoleum Gabriele d'Annunzios – seine Leiche und die von zehn Getreuen in Sarkophagen auf Marmorstelen hoch über dem Gardasee. Die Aufnahmen aus den USA fanden im April und Mai 2002 während der Dreharbeiten zum Film Goff in der Wüste statt, die Aufnahmen aus dem Vittoriale am 24. März 1997 in Vorbereitung zum Projekt D'Annunzios Höhle.

Abb 1: Sullivan's Arch in Chicago, USA

Abb 2: Downtown Oklahoma City, USA

Downtown Oklahoma City, USAMiscellanea III

Photographie und jenseits (Teil 10)

Land: Deutschland 1997-2004.
Regie, Kamera, Schnitt: Heinz Emigholz.
Cooperators: Irene von Alberti, Heiner Büld, Ueli Etter, May Rigler, Frieder Schlaich, Thomas Wilk.
Tonbearbeitung: Christian Obermaier
Mischung: Matthias Schwab
Produktion: Pym Films

Format: 35mm, 1:1,37, Farbe. Länge: 22 Minuten

Uraufführung: Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin, 13. Februar 2005


Abb 3: National Memorial in Oklahoma City, USA 

National Memorial in Oklahoma City, USAGRAZ, 27. März 2004. Menschen, die professionell mit Worten umgehen, bestehen leider manchmal, fast scheint es aus Trotz, auf geglätteten Verhältnissen zwischen Auge und Realität: Hier das Auge, also "ich", dort die Realität, mein Gegenüber. Hier die Kamera, auch "ich", dort das Objekt meiner Betrachtung. Christopher Isherwoods "I am a camera" ist in der Folge ebenso kurz verstanden kolportiert worden wie Louis Sullivans "Form ever Follows Function". Würde im Gegenzug etwa jemand behaupten, er sei ein Füllfederhalter oder ein Computer, nur weil er nicht schreiben kann? Nein, ich "bin" keine Kamera, und kein Mensch "ist" eine. Entgegnet wird, "I am a camera" sei doch nur metaphorisch gemeint, die Kamera also ein unparteiisches, unbestechliches Instrument der Dokumentation, womöglich ein ganz "leidenschaftslos" hingehaltenes. Für Kulturwissenschaftler und kuratierende Theoretiker zur Zeit am Liebsten noch mit der Ausprägung "Knipsen": Die als Geschäft betriebene Ausdeutung des "Unbewussten" ist irgendwie billiger als die Beschäftigung mit gestaltender Komposition.

Abb 4: City Hall, El Paso, USA

City Hall, El Paso, USAÜber die unverschämte Gleichsetzung von Auge und Kamera ist schon andernorts viel geschrieben worden. Daß ein filmischer Fachjargon in bestimmten wackelnden Bildern einen authentischen Touch (Direktübertragung aus dem Gehirn eines der Protagonisten) sieht und mit dem Term "subjektive Kamera" belegt, ist eher ein Hinweis auf ein manipulatives Instrumentarium. Tatsächlich befindet sich die Kamera im Raum zwischen dem Kinematographen und der Welt. Es handelt sich also eigentlich um zwei Räume: den Raum zwischen Gehirn/Auge des Fotografen und der Bildfläche der Kamera (die eben nicht nur aus einer Linse besteht, sondern auch aus einer künstlichen "Retina") und den Raum zwischen dieser technischen Bildfläche als Aufzeichnungsinstrument und dem Arrangement des Wirklichen, das festgehalten wird. Auf beiden Seiten kommt es in den aktuellen Beziehungen dieses Relationsgefüges zu einer aktiven, körperlich betriebenen Verflüssigung des Raumes.

Abb 5: Lockheed T-33 vor dem Center of Commerce, Del Rio, USA

Lockheed T-33 vor dem Center of Commerce, Del Rio, USADer Raum wird durch die Arbeit des Blicks eingeschmolzen und im Moment der Aufnahme in seinen Bestandteilen zusammengeschweißt. Im Akt der Aufnahme findet die Erstarrung einer momentanen Verlinkung von Raumbestandteilen statt. Die Herstellung eines repräsentativen Bildes ist in dieser Konstellation ein Spezialfall, der nicht besonders viel mit Denken zu tun hat, wenn man dieses als fließende Bewegung begreift. Worauf das Interesse zu richten ist, ist das Theater des Blicks, das sich in dem Raum zwischen dem Gehirn des Fotografen und der Bildfläche der Kamera abspielt. In ihm konstituiert sich die Realität des Bildes und sein Gehalt: Das ist kein "Ich", sondern das Produkt eines bestimmten Prozesses."

(Aus: Heinz Emigholz, Das weiße Schamquadrat, unveröffentlicht)

 

Abb 6: General Patton Memorial Museum, USA

General Patton Memorial Museum, USA